Connect with Lanette
 
Picture
Week 5 - Housekeeping

I’ve shared some memorable experiences I’ve had this summer, some I always expect and associate with summer like the beach and trips to the pool.  But also as a kid growing up with a mother as a teacher, there were always these other tasks that happen during summer.  Mostly because devoted teachers don’t have time for these things during the school year.  Have you thought of one yet?  I can remember my Mom washing the windows, cleaning out closets, and kitchen cabinets.  When I was old enough, I eventually helped with these things or became responsible for cleaning out my own closet.  Can you guess what I’ll also be doing this summer?  Yes, those mundane but necessary tasks, I’m sure you have at least one you will do this summer.  Although less flashy than my other summer memories, they do feel rewarding and show a sense of pride in what you own and take care of.  So, as the new owner of an iPad, there are some less flashy but just as important “housekeeping” items you need to know.  

First, I want to make sure that we address a few things that are not perfect on an iPad, and suggest some solutions. In general, I am hoping that you are finding the iPad very user friendly!  We have adopted Google Apps for Education (your new email) along with other applications in the Google Apps Suite.  This has huge advantages for our K-12 school.  On the iPad, the collaborative feature of Google Docs does not always work as it should.  The best solution I have found, is the use of the Chrome browser for collaboration.  I suggest downloading this App.  If you are at a meeting with your iPad and need to collaborate on a document, this would be the best solution right now. In addition, the Chrome browser App offers additional features that other browsers do not have.  Check out the Google Art Project, which includes tons of art and historical artifacts from around the world (and only works in Chrome).  New apps are coming out all of the time, so if another solution pops up, I will let you know!  

Second, flash-based web sites do not work on the iPad.  You may have heard of Adobe Flash, it is plug-in based tool that allows people to deliver interactive content through a website.  This is not the only way to deliver interactive content, but it has become popular because of its ease of use. However, Adobe Flash is slowly being replaced by HTML 5, because Apple feels that Adobe Flash, is not secure on Mobile devices.  Most updated websites have changed over to HTML 5.  However, you may navigate to a website that still uses Adobe Flash, and it may not function on the iPad.  Two Apps Rover and Photon Flash Player Browser offer some options.  Rover is a free App that is designed to specifically work with educational based Flash websites.  Do you have a website that you use already that has Flash?  Download Rover and see if it works.  Second, Photon Flash Player Browser ($4.99) is more robust and offers Flash capabilities.

Now onto a few other learning tips.  Now that you are downloading apps, you may notice that you have many, many apps.  I suggest that you organize them into folders.  Here is a great video and step by step directions on how to do this.  You may call one folder Math, one Teaching Tools, Games etc., Use a organizational technique that will work for you.  Searching through pages of Apps can waste time and having an organized tidy iPad will may you look professional!

Something else you may have run into is Pop-up windows with questions.  Should I allow or don’t allow?  Yes or No?  Here is a video from one of the people I follow on Twitter on the 2 most common questions the iPad will ask you.  

Next, the iPad does allow you to switch between two apps to work on multiple tasks at once.  Multitasking is fairly easy, and is explained here.  In addition, you will want to understand how to close apps that you open.  Here is a short explanation on closing running apps.  This will save your battery life.

Here is the iPad 3 Manual. I’m not sure if any of you are manual readers, but just in case I wanted to give you the link.  I don’t typically read manuals until I have a specific problem, but I find Apple’s manuals to be very user friendly with pictures and easy to read text.  There is a search bar at the top to search the manual if you have a specific question you are seeking the answer to.  

And, if you haven’t spent your iTunes gift card, here is another list of apps by subject area specifically for elementary.  And, is anyone traveling...or teach French?  Here is a review of the top translation apps.  And last but not least, Kraft Macaroni and Cheese launched a free app this week with donations made for each download called Kraft Macaroni & Cheese Dinner not Art.  It’s great for kids and I’m sure there are educational applications too!

So I guess this week, I’ll need to work some of those mundane tasks into my schedule that I’ve been putting off...right after, of course, our Meet Up on Tuesday at Atwater’s.  Now, that sounds more exciting! See you there with your iPad!

Lanette




Leave a Reply.

    Lanette Walters

    I am currently the Lower School Technology Integrator for an independent school, in Baltimore, Md.  This blog is devoted to nurturing curiosity & learning in the connected classroom.

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All